Royal Mail to Introduce 1,400 Parcel Postboxes Across UK

Royal Mail is introducing the UK’s first ever parcel postboxes in locations across the country, over a six month period from August this year. This marks the first major repurposing of the postbox in the last 160 years.

The launch will see the Company convert existing meter boxes (1,400 in total), which include a wider aperture and secure design. The initiative follows a successful trial of the boxes in 2018.

This is the first time parcel postboxes have been widely introduced in the UK, and the launch represents the first major change of use for the postbox since it was introduced 160 years ago. The launch of parcel postboxes is also one of the biggest innovations in parcels since the launch of Parcel Post in 1883.

The change means that small businesses and marketplace sellers can post pre-paid parcels through securely designed parcel postboxes, in the same way that they currently post a letter. Parcels must be pre-paid through Click & Drop, Royal Mail’s market leading online labelling system for consumers, online sellers and account customers. Customers will also be able to post some return parcels at any time, seven days a week.

The postboxes will be introduced in locations across the UK including Birmingham, Leeds, Aberdeen and Cardiff.

Mark Street, Head of Campaigns at Royal Mail, said “The wide scale introduction of parcel postboxes is one of the many ways we at Royal Mail are looking to make the lives of our customers easier. The parcel postboxes trial last year was a success, and we hope that the wider roll-out gives added flexibility to online sellers who might be running a business in their spare time and not keeping regular office hours.”

Parcel Postbox Locations:

Leeds Newcastle & Tyneside Sheffield
Warrington Swindon Nottingham
Romford Manchester Preston
London Central​ Birmingham Chelmsford
Chester Greenford Glasgow
Edinburgh Bristol Croydon
Poole Aberdeen Southampton
Belfast Peterborough Plymouth
Cardiff Norwich Swansea
Bournemouth Exeter Truro
Inverness​ Carlisle